Tragicmulattoes's Blog

May 9, 2011

Don’t Play the Game With Biracial Women

I haven’t blogged in a very long time, mostly because I haven’t been inspired. I’ve been drawn to other things. Frankly, race talk gets frustrating. But I will leave this blog up as long as I can. I appreciate the comments. I read them. I think through them. I accept them or I don’t.

Recently a commenter chided me for being “hostile” towards Biracial Tiffany and her “jealous blacks” story because, the commenter said, “Black women ARE jealous. It’s just a fact”. You can see her comment and my response here.

After responding, I decided to fish around Tiffany’s blog for the first time in ages. I’m glad I did. I’m glad my comment to the girl was spot on. I’m glad I trusted my own instincts and experiences and responded truthfully rather than diplomatically. And I’m glad I am encouraging everyone, but particularly Black women, to understand what happens when Black women are silent about the dysfunctions and hypocrisies of biracial women, while you allow them to shape the stories that others hear about you. The post in question is here

While participating in racial voyeurism on BlackHairMedia.com, Biracial Tiffany (who admittedly has little connection with Black people in her offline life-which makes her voyeurism that much more interesting…and sad) came across a discussion about Halle Berry in which some poster stated that she does not believe Halle, or other Bircials are Black, nor should they be identified as such. Halle, the poster believes, should NOT be considered the “Most Beautiful Black Woman”. Makes sense, right? This argument has been made before, even by biracial writers. Basically, should half Black women be the dominant images of Black women we see in media? The simple answer is no. But when a Black woman says it, it’s a big problem for tragic mulattos.

No. Black women must be hateful and jealous. Biracial Tiffany decides that her opinion on the matter is so inflammatory that she best not mention it at all.  Her other commenters aren’t as cowardly:

 

jess2248 says:
no one represents me, but me, and i do not represent other black women. as i said before, as soon as this country can get away from this race and color thing, i think we will all be better off. you have blacks and whites telling biracial people how they can or cannot identify. it’s ridiculous. i hate to hear biracial (non-black with black) being hated on by black or white women, but black especially. it always comes off sounding like envy. and that is just another divisive tactic in my opinion. i don’t hear a lot of it in this blog, but on others it gets really nasty.

Now I’m not trying to be funny. Look at the image above. Does this look like a woman who will EVER have to worry about negotiating her racial identity with white women? LOL-would she dare to try if she could? Exactly. She’s talking about being “hated on”. I will stop right here. The commenter I discussed earlier that said I was hostile to Tiffany claimed Black women are jealous of her hair. This commenter has typical African hair (and nose and lips) but still experiences this gut-wrenching jealousy. How can this be??????

Remember what I said about the complex. If it is not excessive adoration, tragic mulattos will believe it is jealousy. 

An even bigger tragedy, Margie said:

And I havete. But I hat the “big” curly kinky hair that black people call “Good hair” and then get mad at me when I repeat them. I’m just discovering the fact that a lot of black women get perms and wigs to try and look like their mulatto counterparts. (ex: Halle Berry. Black Women get weaves to look like Halle Berry and then the media just labels them all black. “This is how to do black women’s hair- no it’s not.

She must not know that Halle wears weaves. And tons of them. She must not know that biracials straighten and relax their hair. Tons of them. Who are they trying to look like??? Take a wild guess. The above comment was said  after she went on about her lack of commonality with “the blacks”. Sigh…

The other ones were too stupid to stay on topic and started talking about how music and money makes them less Black. Typical minority racial hierarchy climbing stuff, talking about being the special darky at expensive White schools (and pretending like they just blended in there and had no racial experiences, lmao). No need to cover that stuff here.

Of course Bethenny was the clueless white mom worried for her future tragedy:

Bethany

Reading that conversation was really annoying to me…which surprised me. I don’t usually take those kinds of comments personally. I’m white and my husband is black…I get so sad when I think about how my children are going to have to hear and deal with conversations like that. Like they’re a science experiment or a food that needs to be labeled. I wish people would get a life. I wish it didn’t have to be a debate. I’m sorry Tiff, I’m just so sad right now for my children. I hope I can raise them to be above all the superficial and negative energy people give out on the topic.

Black women owning their identities and deciding who is “them” and who isn’t, is interpreted by a White woman as “negativity”. Read my post about the origins of the modern biracial movement. It started with women like her.

So to sum up this whole exchange on Tiffany’s blog, if Halle calls herself Black, they’re mad. If Black women say Halle is biracial, they’re mad. if Black women say Halle is Black, they’re mad. Anything a Black woman has to say that is not a loving, uncritical complement…THEY WILL BE MAD.

You may not be allowed to tell other people who they are, but you sure as hell can tell them they ARE NOT LIKE YOU. Everyone has a place in this conversation. Especially if they’re toying with your racial identity.

In this “post racial” climate, Black women can’t win for losing.  Do Not Play Their Game. When it comes to your identity, you’re allowed to set your own rules. Tragic mulattos be darned.

15 Comments »

  1. I don’t have an issue with biracials, I’m pretty indifferent. The way I see it, if they have to gauge the reaction of black women every single time they speak and analyze comments that black women make, then they are pathetic souls indeed. Time is money and if they want to waste it on “the jealousy of black women” I say go for it.

    Comment by Heather — May 14, 2011 @ 12:11 am | Reply

  2. After reading your blog, and now your additional comments I can’t help but think; what is your motivation for creating this blog? I could certainly speculate, as I’m trained in the assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of mental illness, but that would only be superfluous. And, quite honestly, in fairness, I’m not you.

    What I can do is attempt to understand your personality structure as it relates to the creation of this blog. Well, for starters, there has to be a certain degree or level of narcissism. Not only with the inception of this blog but even its antithesis; the tragic Negro blog. Both bloggers appear to believe that in some form or fashion they are the messiahs for persons of predominately African heritage or for persons with a fair amount of racial mixture(s).

    Many times in your blog you contradict yourself by stating “biracial people sic should be able to identify as such, only to be followed with an attempt to lambast anyone that doesn’t readily accept the black label. You see I’m proud, and happen to be biracial, mulatto, half-breed, or any other descriptive label for persons with a fairly equal amount of racial mixture. I have to admit for awhile I completely avoided what I would deem monoracial blacks, simply because of the ignorant experiences that I had while interacting with them.

    However, I think, in most of the cases of mulattos that go through a healthy cathartic change, anger is only a mere antecedent. I have no ill will towards monoracial blacks as I don’t have ill will towards other races. However, I just happen to really enjoy the company of persons like myself, and mulatto women…..Whoa. That’s a whole different topic of which I could shower my admiration and innate attraction to for ions upon ions. Nationalism comes to mind, but that, in and of itself, is a whole entirely different topic. I digress.

    The bottom line is that your “blog” is nothing more than someone who feels that it is their duty to put mulattos “in their place”. As far as your cries that biracial women are self-serving and completely embellish their tales of woe re: monoracial black women. I would ask for descriptive statistical analyses such as Pearson and Dobson et al. 2010 or Jackson, Rivers, and Walters, et. Al. 2010 that refute the findings of these educated statisticians that reported; through surveys and interviews that there is hostility between monoracial black’s women and biracial women. One question, if you are all about change or “defending the good name of blacks”, why would you utilize unproven and easily refuted findings?

    Comment by metalheadmulatto — July 4, 2011 @ 4:09 am | Reply

    • @Metalhead
      I’m almost certain you haven’t left an unnecessarily lengthy (and poor) psychoanalysis the author of tragic negroes- possibly because you admittedly relate to his foolishness (nationalism, right?)

      I will entertain you just this once.

      I’ve written on more than one occasion that I believe that people can call themselves what they please. However, many mulattoes struggle to define themselves positively WITHOUT maligning blacks. Obviously, you were one of those at some point (probably still are) since you believed half of your racial makeup are ignorant and worthy of prejudgement.

      I don’t need to put mulattos in their place, they do it to themselves every time they feel the need to be conveniently “other” by perpetuating anti-black racism.

      “I have to admit for awhile I completely avoided what I would deem monoracial blacks, simply because of the ignorant experiences that I had while interacting with them.”

      This invalidates any complaint you would have about the existence of this blog. This blog is an explanation for those wondering why people like you act the way you do (or “did” as you claim).

      Have you ever refuted the idea of animosity between biracials and monoracials on the websites of he numerous mulatto bloggers that exist???? I doubt it. Because when they make claims about jealousy that doesn’t bother you. When others purport they have no reason to think twice about mulattos, you come here to write a dissertation for me.

      Biracial Tiffany is apparently indignant about the fact that some black women don’t consider Halle Berry Black. Are you over there telling her to stop trying to put black women “in their place”? Of course not. Because you really don’t give a fuck, lol. I don’t either.

      As long as you are half black, and as long as ya’ll are closeted racist (as you admitted to being) I will say what I please on the matter.

      Lastly, if you’re going to go the scholastic route at least quote what refuted findings you’re talking about and give the titles of the articles you claim refute my POV. Otherwise, save the posturing for Psych 101 at the local community college.

      Comment by tragicmulattos — July 6, 2011 @ 12:38 am | Reply

  3. I am bi-racial. I have always considered myself to be black. I went to school with mostly white people. I think this is CRAZY. I have experienced racism on from both sides of my family tree. My life, however, is not tragic. The stupidity of others does not affect my mental state, I may get mad, but another’s opinion of me does not break or make me. Every African-American (from slavery decent) is MIXED. Someone was a Cherokee, or Asian, or Caucasian.

    I had a professor who once told me that people would also have a need to pre judge one another. If we were all the same race, we wold judge by hair or eye color. If we were all homogenous (looked the same) we would judge one another on the tonality of our voice.

    There will ALWAYS be ignorance.
    There will ALWAYS be wisdom.

    As a child growing up I thought that my father’s cousin was the most beautiful women in the world….She has a chemically treated do, she is dark-skinned with perfect skin tone (no blotches, no acne, no scars) she is curvier than most (badonkadonk). I say this because not every Mulatto has the feeling of superiority nor do I think that European women are the beauties that all others need to be compared to.

    Comment by JustMe — July 5, 2011 @ 7:13 pm | Reply

  4. YAY “Just me”! i think so much energy exploring the racist, whether there melanin level be high or low is futile. End self hatred by focuses on your own esteem and beauty, physically and/or spiritually respectfully. im predominantly african american married to a european descent american and bcuz we addressed our racial isssues prior to meeting, race was not a major problem within our relationship. ….. when i realized a dedcade ago that i could just be me i stopped straightening my hair and other than a lil eye make up and some braided extentions now and then i dont augment my beauty and im better for it. luv urself its peace

    Comment by notabox — December 30, 2011 @ 12:45 am | Reply

    • “Lastly, if you’re going to go the scholastic route at least quote what refuted findings you’re talking about and give the titles of the articles you claim refute my POV. Otherwise, save the posturing for Psych 101 at the local community college”

      Really? Seriously? And you purport to through out your blog (mostly through your power of the mighty black sword) to right the injustices done to your people? Come on. “Posturing for psych 101” You have got to be kidding me. Any dipshit that has been to a junior college would know that there are 3 major psych/psychiatric journals that are consistently validated. Also, fyi, in any higher academic setting students just kind of know ……. laugh……….. that you don’t need to do anything more than site and verify at the end of any apa journal. Obviously, you were so hellbent on attacking me and trying to figure out my psyche that the basic elements of ahhhh fundamental psych. escaped you. .Oh geez and let me baffle you and your ilk; I think the same about “whites” ‘Caucasoids” or whatever you want to call them, as I do about “monoracial blacks”, which is basic indifference. Ya know that always seems to baffle most. Largely because I think many of you, yourself included, have this ridiculous assumption that Mulattos want to be white. Hmmmm, also, the internet is a playground for all types of wannabe (gawd, i don’t think i’ll ever get eubonics right 🙂 .Mental Health Professionals. Fortunately due to the strong covenants of APA, is coming to a demise. By the way, are you licensed as an MHP? and hey, by the way, again, what are you doing this Saturday?

      Comment by metalheadmulatto — December 31, 2011 @ 12:49 pm | Reply

      • Your nonsensical rant was hard to follow, but I’ll respond to the points I caught.

        1. No, you’ll never get “EBONICS”, because 1. You’re not black 2. You’re not a linguist (they call it AAVE), and 3. You’re not bright.

        2. There are more than 3 peer-reviewed psychological journals. I supposed your community college can only afford 3.

        3. “Strong covenants of APA”. LMBAO. LAUGHING OUT LOUD!!!!!! You are sooooo far from the tower…(I know you don’t get that. If you did, you wouldn’t have said what you said)

        Comment by tragicmulattos — February 12, 2012 @ 10:46 pm

  5. “If it is not excessive adoration, tragic mulattos will believe it is jealousy.”

    This has been my experience. Non-blacks can sense when they are not overvalued and interpret the lack of excessive adoration as hostile and jealous. It seems they want to revel in their differences and become upset when treated as mere ‘equals’ and nothing special.

    Comment by Odile — January 9, 2012 @ 11:41 pm | Reply

  6. As a non-black woman of color, allow me to explain a possible reason for biracial women nastiness toward black women.
    It simply boils down to the way they were raised by their (ususally white) mother. Non black women who pair up with black men are for the most part an incredible mean & nasty bunch, & most of them downright hate black women & pass on that hatred of black women to their biracial children.

    I used to be friend with several non-black women married to black (carribean) men, while they worshiped black men, they would say the most spiteful & hateful things about black women, then those same women would put on phoney smiles & fake friendly attitudes while in the presence of their husbands’ female relatives.

    If you ever wondered why biracial men are so negative towards black women & why biracial women are so houghty & disdainful, wonder no more.

    Comment by samadhi — January 17, 2012 @ 6:25 pm | Reply

    • actually my whole life it has always been girls that are just mean and nasty toward each other in general regardless of race

      Comment by Elisabeth M — December 17, 2013 @ 5:31 pm | Reply

  7. …Funny thing about all this biracial/black and racist MESS is that if people DON’T want to be stereotyped for being one type of minority then why stereotype another and press your issues as being true??? Wrong is wrong. YES I AM technically BIRACIAL and YES I am aware that in America as in many other places if you are part black you may be identified even by the LAW as black OR biracial but it many times sways to the black side due to historical and social factors. I have no issues with being biracial or bIack. I grew up in a majority black family due to my mother being black and parents being divorced. Like many other mixed people I had grown up never even really thinking hard about the idea of being mixed EXCEPT for when black or white people brought it up in a positive, negative, or curious manner. I am GOOD with who I am regardless of the black and white issues of this country. Let’s just face the facts- society causes people (black and white)to have self esteem or arrogant entitlement issues and people like to project THEIR feelings onto others. These people just keep FUELING the fires. The result of this constantly being done to someone MAY just cause them to start to REACT towards how they are being treated if they DON’T have a very good sence of themselves….but is that any different from totally black women that feel negative about other black women or even towards white women for a variety of reasons??? …OR white women that feel negative about other white women and black women.
    I have NO ideas of thinking black, white, or any race is better…and YES! I have heard all the remarks and sideways comments about me NOT being completely black anyway or thinking I’m better by SOME black women because I’m light and I have good self esteem (any complextion can have good self esteem OR a complex it’s all about perception) but I just chop it up to a TACTIC that some women use who MAY be intimidated or have had negative experiences in society because THAT is WHAT it IS. YES- white women MAY SOMETIMES be jealous as well and I have witnessed them behave insecurly when I was around if they felt thier man may be attracted and I don’t even believe in messing with other womens men!. White women ARE capable of being jealous of all types of minority classed women REGARDLESS of what some people may want others to believe. Many of them may envy a caramel complextion or a “yellow” skinned woman simply because she could be attractive to MEN (black men OR white men). They can be jealous of all types of black women for a variety of reasons from body shape and muscle tone, to insecurties because they are attracted to BLACK men. White women may be intimidated if thier white men(or black men) find any OTHER women attractive simply because she is an attractive woman- It doesn’t MATTER if she is light, dark, or WHITE……. Those who pretend it is NOT POSSIBLE only want to try to FOOL people by using a “majority superiority” power card tactic. If it is a woman many types of men find attractive they CAN be jealous TOO. Do THIER experiences speak for everyone??? Of course not! We are not ALL alike- whether we are black, white, biracial-mixed or anything else you want to think of… Has anyone EVER thought about the fact that women/people are just sometimes jeoulous of other women/ people or just mistreat each other for the sake of some horrible COMPETITION for attention and will sometimes use whatever means to justify it whether it is race, weight,money, social class, or attractiveness. It can all be used FOR or AGAINST us…………………………………………………………………………………….. WE WOMEN especially need to STOP!!! playing into these games- we have alot of other issues in society to worry about rather than to be used as pawns again each other in yet another way. We have a right to be proud and feel beautiful- no matter what our race or complextion is. . The majority of this country is black or white and CAN’T see it any other way so THEY are confused and want to project THIER perceptions and THIER ideas upon everyone including other blacks or whites.Not ALL biracial/ mixed people are confused- regardless of these issues. So yes these ideas and behaviors all sometimes happen of all types of people AND not all types of people feel the same about it even if they ARE of the SAME race or COMPLEXTION…above all we have to start looking out for eachother and respectiing each other as women or we don’t stand a chance in this world.

    Comment by Real — September 22, 2012 @ 1:13 am | Reply

  8. This issue of the so-called “tragic mulatto” fails to recognize the FACT that Blacks themselves are multiracial and there is not unified Black experience. During Jim Crow and before, biracial people were considered Black and meshed in with the black community. In fact, there IS NO ONE WAY TO DEFINE A BIRACIAL PERSON. Yes, some have so-called “good hair,” just as other “pure” Blacks have good hair as well. Some have kinks, dark skin, light skin etc etc However, monoracials possess these qualities too. I am a light skinned Black woman, and am constantly told that I look biracial when I am not. Everyone is mixed (including Whites), so lets just get passed that. Now, I think the REAL issue here is that when it comes to biracial people, we assume that Biracial women are either confused or think they are too cute – very rarely do WE think they are at peace with themselves. How could they? Could it make sense that someone who has two parents of allegedly “opposing” races actually be at peace with themselves. Next, please take notice that we tend to assume that the biracial WOMAN is “confused.” When does this issue EVER surround Biracial men? For some reason, these men are at peace with themselves, yet women are not. Finally, I beg that we all consider that when we discuss biracial people as being confused or self haters, we fail to recognize that being mixed in the US today is hard. While some biracials may have more privilege than others, this does not mean that there aren’t other monoracials that have privilege over them. However, I agree that biracial people, just as light skinned people, must recognize that light skin – colorism- may privilege them. They should recognize this. However, when we belittle these so-called “confused” biracial women we are spending too much energy on the wrong people. We should REALLY be upset with the usually white, although sometime Black, MEDIA which tends to hire or cast light skinned women. These are the people that are perpetuating advantage for lighter skinned (women) in terms of media representation. Yes, Black IS BEAUTIFUL, and especially Black women, but light skinned and brown skinned women are beautiful too – whether biracial or not! Let’s not use biracial women, not men, as a scape goat for our frustration with the oppressive and intertwined systems of patriarchy and racism!

    Comment by Veronica — November 2, 2012 @ 4:28 pm | Reply

  9. I’m amazed that black people continue to support “White Supremacy” disguised as (The One Drop Rule). Mulattos had no choice but to be black slavery, today, they can be whatever. I’m tired of talking about this issue. If someone is half-black, they’re mixed-race, biracial, etc. They’re not black, why is it so hard for black folk to understand this reality. Mixed women like Halle Berry keep the bs going in our race. Natural blackwomen are forced to sit back and watch a bunch of pseudo blackwomen pretend to be the real thing. Sistas are sick of the nonsense from mixed women and whitemen. Whitemen see them as Becky with a natural tan who can birth white babies. So, real blackwomen are hated on because whitemen want access to biracial women. They’re already half white, so, they have nothing to do with real blackwomen. They don’t realize that whitemen are punking them. If a mixed woman hates black, So What! She isn’t black anyway, her opinions mean nothing to real black people. Enuf of this stupidity, I”m Done! Get your own box and category, and move the hell on.

    Tyrone

    Comment by Tyrone — July 22, 2013 @ 11:33 pm | Reply

  10. The black race has a long way to go. As a people, we need to stop all this hate. I stand by Miguel on this: “What is clear is when you put it all in context, I’m saying that we are judgmental of our own. We’re very judgmental of each other. We’re tearing each other down, and that’s why the second tweet about us being preprogrammed and preconditioned to hate each other and hate ourselves is valid.
    I see more black people tearing down other black people than I see any other culture regardless of what they’re doing, and whether or not you agree with that, that’s okay. I’m just talking about what I see, and how disappointed I am in that. I’m not judging my own people. That’s a fallacy. I’m merely speaking on what I see and making a conversation of it.” That comment he made is so true. I mark other or I mark two races when asked about my race, since I am hispanic (Colombian father) and black (American mother). I am from Atlanta, born and raised. I grew up in the 90’s and my first day of kindergarten, I experienced racism from my own people, little girls that look like my mom, as black as she is. My skin was very light, like the color of Annabella Sciorra, who played in Jungle Fever and now, my color is like Alica Keys….blackness takes some time….as quoted by Paula Patton. Anyways, none of the black girls wanted me to play with them. They teased me, called me a white girl, told me to play with white dolls, and I’m thinking why? My mother is black, my grandmother is black, my cousins are black, what is the problem with me? Now, flash forward to 2013, I’ve been asked by some teenage girls that have had challenges with fitting in and they wonder why black girls pick on them or tease them? Mind you, they believe its because they are visually biracial (they look like Paula Pattons, Alicia Keys, Stacy Dash, etc) and non blacks don’t tease them at all. To piggy back off that point, I NEVER experienced racism for the way I looked from NO race other than BLACK people. I simply explained, when I grew up, from the time I was in kindergarten, mind you I grew up in the south, in the 90’s…….it… was black and white, not like New York or LA where you see mixed people and all types of nationalities, which is pretty common and most of the black girls called me white girl off rip and looked at me as if I was not human. They didn’t want me to play with them, they tried to fight me and bullied me damn near every day, etc. I had carried these painful issues and memories within myself for a long time, from elementary school onward, I just felt lost and never understood how u could hate someone or put someone down u didn’t know. People hate or dislike what they don’t understand. I remember this black girl, dark skinned, with thin, nappy hair, got up out her chair and yanked my hair, she said she wanted my ribbon and wanted my hair, and I had to fight her to get her off of me, I was only 7 then. I was at my desk, coloring a picture and our teacher had stepped outside the classroom to talk to another teacher. Anyways, from the age of 5 and onward, any black girl I encountered, that wasn’t my family…. in the back of my mind, I’m thinking she is not going to like me or she is going to try to fight me or humiliate me, etc. I mean why wouldn’t I? I hated being biracial. From the time i was five, all the negative things i experienced sucked out my self esteem and preyed on my confidence and identity. I didn’t understand why my own people treated me horribly. I became transparent. I did whatever I could to fit in, which i regret, because I wish I had the courage to embrace what I was, but I didn’t know how to go about this at the time. I’m 25 years old now and when you’re a kid or teenager it feels like you’re just stuck in this suffocating environment and your world is crashing. The bottomline is, all these teens and kids are just trying to fit in, and kids have no filter sometimes, even some of the black children in my neighborhood, taunt and call my child white, I overheard it one time and I saw his frustration and he kept saying no I’m not, my mommy and daddy say I’m black, mommy and daddy are black. I make sure my child remains confident with his own people, which I wasn’t taught to do, I was told they aren’t going to like u because u are beautiful with light skin and long hair and this kind of turned into a nose turned up mentality when I became a teenager. They turned their noses up at me, so why should I continue to kiss their asses? That was my mentality. Now, my mother tried her best to coach me through these episodes, but I remember my mama kept telling me that I didn’t make myself. I was beautiful. My mom tried to protect me and kind of sheltered me from black girls because I came home with my hair a mess, or I came home crying everyday and she hated this. My mom moved us to a more white area, but my highschool was mixed and I came from a 99% black school, so things eased up when I went to a mixed school. I actually became best friends with a dark skinned girl, she was a smart “magnet” student and we went through the skin color issues in our lives, but she got the dark skinned issues and I had the opposite, and my only friend I had when was 4 or 5 at the time, my first friend was a biracial little girl and she lived across the street. Her parents were both black, but her dad was from Bermuda, kind of Italian or Middle Eastern looking….She and I are still friends today and we know what it feels like to be called white girl and asked a THOUSAND times what are you and so on….I think what I really needed from my mom was confidence and respect and self love. Confidence is the key. My mom struggled with being the darkest child my grandmother had and my grandmother is a brown skinned woman. She hated her nose and lips. She kind of looked like Whitney back in the 80’s…..and had lips like Donna Summer. She struggled with confidence and being beautiful. Her baby sister was light skinned and had a different father, she was spoiled and got ALOT of favortism. ALOT of blacks just put each other down. Its an ugly cycle. Anyways, what I learned from my experiences is simply to have the courage to stand up for yourself and be who you are when confronted with ignorance. Your real job is to be you and demand respect, by your posture, your aura, your eye contact, keep your head high, and understand that everyone is not going to like you for whatever reason, even your own people and do not compromise who you are to fit in, screw that. Don’t bow down to nobody but God. Childhood shapes you and you have your most embarrassing stories and memories, but remember that everyone is trying to find themselves and some will pick on you or tease you to earn stars so they dont get picked on and so they gain status.

    Comment by Jenerra — August 11, 2013 @ 1:49 pm | Reply

  11. No hate but I only say the truth:
    In Africa, most of biracial are so stuck up, they think they’re superior just because they have white blood BUT when they move in a Western country, Racism slaps their face and suddenly they identify as black and they want to be our “brothers/sisters”. Hell no! That’s so hypocritical.
    It’s not b/c you experienced racism that you can identify yourself as black.
    In America, the One Drop rule “saves” your identity.
    I’m glad that in Africa we make the difference. I don’t want to me associated with them and I really don’t them to represent my community. Why? Because you’re NOT black. 🙂

    Comment by Sabi — November 23, 2013 @ 3:06 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

