Tragicmulattoes's Blog

April 9, 2010

Tragic Mulatto of the Day: Nicole Richie

Nicole-Richie-Brenda-Richie-Childhood-Photo-cropped-040810wtmk

I think Nicole Richie was a beautiful child. I have little appreciation for the intentionally emaciated look, so I am not a fan of her recent brand of “attractive”. I don’t think she grew up to be a great beauty, and I don’t think her preference for the Eurocentric look suits her. But to be critical of her childhood pic over eyebrows and hair? Goodness! From her official website:

How Many Things About this Picture are Just Wrong?

April 8, 2010 / 6 Comments

1. My eyebrows

2. Matching outfits

3. My afro

4. The 1989 “serious face”

Is a little brunette girl with wavy hair (I mean, did the years of drug use really ruin her ability to spot an afro??) really SO wrong? Consider the way she has looked since she started starving herself:

https://i0.wp.com/www.chinadaily.com.cn/showbiz/images/attachement/jpg/site1/20090921/0023ae606f170c217b8c0b.jpghttps://i1.wp.com/bittenandbound.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/08/nicole_richie.jpg

https://i2.wp.com/www.moviestuffandmore.com/images/soundboards/mr%20burns.jpg

I would take young Nicole ANY day of the week. Bushy eyebrows in all. It’s clear what beauty means to her, and that’s not totally her fault. It is definitely a pervasive standard of beauty that all women have to deal with, and I’m sure playing Paris Hilton’s fat funny brown sidekick helped feed the skinny/blonde imperative. However, I was a little surprised by this tiny revelation. But I guess not really. She is quick to point out that she is “Black” (I’m sure for it’s novelty value), but her world outside of her adopted parents is entirely White. This isn’t really a problem, in fact it could be a matter of unconcious circumstance…but I doubt it.

There is nothing wrong with an Afro Nicole. But there is something wrong with that lifetime supply of peroxide you keep within arm’s length.

3 Comments »

  1. Hey nice blog you got here. So much truth! I think Nicole was a cute little girl and looked much better before the dramatic weightloss and bleached blonde hair. To me she was always better looking than Paris but now she has joined Paris in looking a hot mess! SMH

    Comment by Leaveumthinking — April 21, 2010 @ 3:10 am | Reply

  2. The only thing I see different about her is the blonde hair, but she’s a California girl. I think she looks cute with the blonde. Anyways, I don’t see why Nicole Richie is even called a “mulatto”, she is half white, a quarter Mexican, and a quarter Creole. Creoles are already generally only half to a quarter black so she is mostly white with a smidgeon of Native American and Black. I never got why people in the “multiracial movement” were so obsessed with claiming her as a mulatto, but I got the impression that they were infatuated with those whose phenotype was right on the edge of whiteness. I noticed a similar fixation on Mariah Carey and Wentworth Miller.

    Comment by Palmer — June 20, 2012 @ 11:14 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

