Tragicmulattoes's Blog

November 26, 2009

Introspective: Leona Lewis Faces Racism

https://i0.wp.com/thebosh.com/upload/2008/05/26/leona_lewis_engaged/Leona-Lewis.jpg

This article is a bit dated but when it initially came out I didn’t really feel like reading past the headline. Now that I have time to kill, I’ll quickly go through it:

X Factor winner Leona Lewis was ordered from a shop because of her race.

She was told to leave the unnamed London store along with her Guyana-born father Joe. Bleeding Love star Leona, 24, who was buying photo frames, said: “This woman told us, ‘get out of my store right now’. I asked her ‘are you joking?’

“She said, ‘No, I want both of you to remove yourselves from my store’. I asked why – and pointing at my dad she said, ‘I don’t like the look of him. I want him to go now’.

“I said: “What do you mean? She said, ‘I know why you’re coming in here’. She was implying we were trying to steal stuff.”

The woman shouted at Leona in front of other customers, but despite being in tears the singer refused to leave. “I was so angry my dad had to drag me out of the shop. I’d never experienced anything like that. Being judged by the colour of your skin is horrible.”

Source

I’m under the impression that this happened after she became famous. I could be wrong.

SOOOOO you and your dad are racially profiled. Check.  You are angry and distraught-brought to tears by the incident. Check. You NEVER experienced anything like that until AFTER you became globally recognizable by name and face. Check. You are a world famous singer, and you have a global platform with which you can use to publicly shun this woman and her business. Check. You decide to go public with the story, but you DO NOT name the store and you DO NOT identify the racist?????? Did they pay you off???

My conclusion: Classic example of complacency towards White racism.

If the story isn’t a complete fabrication, this might be an attempt at some urban credibility LOL. I sense an R&B album on the horizon. It’s been done before…

2 Comments »

  1. That she would not name the store despite this experience is strange to say the least after experiencing this.

    Comment by Herneith — January 28, 2010 @ 4:07 am | Reply

  2. No, she didn’t mention the name of the shop or shopkeeper because this incident is false…it never happened…

    I have noticed that the “bi-racial” children of white women with Black men are some of the MOST insecure bi-racials of any combination. They want a foot in the door to receive white female privilege via their white mums, but want one full leg in the door of Black womanhood just in case the former scenario doesn’t work out–which in many cases will end up being the latter for them. And even Lewis herself cannot pass for white anywhere she goes in this world.

    I have noticed the same rhetoric with other mixed raced British women with a white mum and Black/Caribbean father–Corinne Bailey Rae said that growing up, her white neighbors saying that “those chocolate children are very beautiful” was over the top. When has being “chocolate” ever been seen as negative? And countless others.

    Comment by phoebeprunelle — August 19, 2013 @ 2:01 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

